Michael.

We were asked about a movie scene which we consider as powerful. One which made an aesthetic – and emotional – impact. One whose images lingered long after we’ve watched it. Immediately I saw this:It’s the part during the trial verdict when the judge announces Hanna’s life sentence. I’ve watched the film 3 or 4 times now, and it gets me all teary-eyed every single time. Without fail.

There’s another clip earlier in the film that also stayed with me ever since. The one where the survivor’s daughter reveals how Hanna had her ‘preferences’ when selecting who to be, well, killed.

(Scene: 07.19-09.30) The editing here obviously helped create the effects. First, the camera allows me to walk with Michael as he reenters the courtroom. Then the eyeline match comes into play, and instead of just walking with him, I now essentially become him, looking at the each of the defendants as the lady identifies them.  While she explains how Hanna chose young girls to read to her, Michael – and hence, I – looks at Hanna. That particular POV makes both of ‘us’ shudder; she did to ‘us’ what she did to those helpless children. The atmosphere gets so intense that sometimes I feel myself almost choking, drowning even.

The Reader’s cinematography is perhaps what drew many of its audience to empathize with Michael and Hanna. Oh, and not forgetting the extraordinary soundtrack by Nico Muhly. The movie’s mysterious, melancholic, and above all, it’s haunting. Yes, haunting. Long after the end credits finish rolling, I still taste his heartache, confusion, guilt. ‘Cause they are mine, too.

About Yan Lin

haru_274@hotmail.com View all posts by Yan Lin

Leave a comment